Student senators at Iowa Lakes hold Soles4Souls shoe drive

Iowa Lakes Community College Student Senators invite the public to join in their seventh Soles4Souls shoe drive. Soles4Souls is an outreach project that benefits both disabled and underprivileged individuals. Soles4Souls has provided shoes to over 30 million individuals in more than 127 countries across the globe.

This year the drive takes place on all Iowa Lakes campuses as well as the Administration building from March 19 to March 28.

“This is a great opportunity for students to be involved with a meaningful service project that ultimately benefits many people,” said Emmetsburg Campus Student Senate Advisor Bill Lapczenski. “I think most people have a pair of shoes they don’t wear anymore that are in good condition, and we’re asking them to donate them.  Collection boxes are available at each Iowa Lakes campus and the Administration building from March 19-28,” he added.

Soles4Souls is a partnership with Village Northwest Unlimited in Sheldon. After collection at Iowa Lakes, the shoes are taken to Village Northwest Unlimited. This provides work opportunities for people with disabilities at Village Northwest Unlimited. There, the residents sort the shoes into specific categories and prepare them to be shipped to the Sole4Souls distribution center.

Soles4Souls in a nonprofit organization which facilitates the donation of new and used shoes, which are used to aid less fortunate individuals worldwide.

Anyone wishing to donate shoes can drop them off at any Iowa Lakes campus or the Administration building during regular business hours throughout the drive. Donors are asked to tie shoes together by the shoelaces, or bind them with a rubber band before placing them in the collection boxes. Regular business hours for the college are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday and 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Friday.

Sole 4 Souls

Student senators at all campuses of Iowa Lakes will be collecting shoes for the Soles4Souls project starting March 19. Emmetsburg student senators include: (front row) Cassidy Hannah and Mari Schmidt and (back row) Rebekah Bauer, Nathan Naber, Kaylea Christiansen, Melea Nielsen, Jordyn Moyes, and Bryce Engelhart.

For More Information:

Bill Lapczenski, Emmetsburg Student Senate Advisor at 712-852-5207