Student Leaders Introduced At Iowa Lakes Trustee Meeting

Iowa Lakes news

(Estherville, Iowa) Nearly forty student leaders attended the Iowa Lakes Board of Trustees Meeting Tuesday afternoon.

Julie Williams, Executive Dean of Students, introduced students serving in student leadership positions at Iowa Lakes Community College as Student Senators, Laker Crew Ambassadors, or Graduate Assistants. Each student leader shared their educational plans and why they chose to attend Iowa Lakes.

Iowa Lakes student leaders present at Tuesday’s meeting included:

Emmetsburg Campus

  • Michelle Cuevas Beltran, Student Ambassador, Bayamon, PR
  • Tyra Jansma, Student Ambassador, Sibley, IA
  • Austin Lyons, Student Senate, Jackson, MN
  • Mackenzie Peter, Student Ambassador, Marshalltown, IA
  • Macy Schwarz, Student Ambassador, Vernon Center, MN
  • Kylara Steffen, Student Senate, Linn Grove, IA
  • Lauren Thomas, Student Ambassador, York, NE
  • Lea Williams, Student Ambassador, Battle Creek, IA
  • TaNeka Williamson, Student Senate, Milford, IA

Estherville Campus 

  • Rachel Breck, Student Senate, Waseca, MN
  • Katrina Fast, Student Senate, Baker City, OR
  • Kaitlyn Halsbrand, Student Ambassador, Osceola, IA
  • Karisa Hernandez, Student Senate, Houston, TX
  • Eliya Johnson, Student Ambassador, Coon Rapids, MN
  • Makenna Otte, Student Senate, Randolph, MN
  • Krishna Patel, Student Ambassador, Algona, IA
  • Mackenzie Peter, Student Ambassador, Marshalltown, IA
  • Reuben Schooley, Student Senate, Ringsted, IA
  • Zane Poss, Student Ambassador & Student Senate, Milford, IA
  • Adelee Reinhardt, Student Senate, Estherville, IA
  • Adrienne Rosfjord, Student Senate, Estherville, IA
  • Aza Swayzer, Student Senate, Vinton, IA
  • Jaden Templin, Student Ambassador & Student Senate, Estherville, IA
  • John Tiller, Student Ambassador & Student Senate, Osseo, MN
  • Louis Wiley, Student Ambassador, Webster, SD
  • Trevor Zellmer, Student Ambassador, Pierce, NE

Spencer Campus

  • Laura Cardenas, Student Senate, Bogota, Columbia
  • Michael Pologlgze, Resident Assistant, Perth, Australia
  • Abby Thompson, Resident Assistant, England
  • Josiah Trinble, Student Senate, Belle Fourche, SD

Graduate Assistants

  • Courtney Calkins, Maple Grove, MN
  • Aaliyah Cowan, Bolingbrook, IL
  • Alexis Cowan, Bolingbrook, IL
  • Darryl Fletcher, Marietta, GA
  • Kristen Gould, Fort Worth, TX
  • Kyle Houts, Spring Lake, MI
  • Corey Muniz, Naperville, IL
  • Emanual Scott, San Jose, CA
  • Dakota Young, Lake Havasu City, AZ

Vice President of Administration, Robert Leifeld, was approved to move forward with two grant applications to the Palo Alto County Gaming Development Corporation (PACGDC), one mini-grant ($5,000 or less) and one full grant ($5,001 or more).

Leifeld explained, “The first grant application would be for a mini-grant to support the needs of the library complex on the Emmetsburg Campus by facilitating the purchase of a dedicated computer for an existing Clevertouch. The full grant application is for the Smith Wellness Center for the replacement of workout equipment including items such as treadmills, ellipticals and other needs within the cardiovascular room.”

Jolene Rogers, Executive Director of Community and Business Relations, presented on Industry 4.0 during the Community and Business Relations update. “The fourth industrial revolution has arrived,” said Jolene Rogers, Executive Director of Community and Business Relations, during the Community & Business Relations update.

“Businesses in all sectors are and will continue to be affected by technology in the way we offer services, provide customer service, develop new products, and the list goes on.”

Rogers updated the Trustees on the local focus to keep businesses informed of grants and other resources available as employers hire and transition business practices.

Following a public hearing regarding the sale of residential property in Emmetsburg, Delaine Hiney, Executive Director of Facilities Management, was granted approval to sell the property.

The next meeting of the Iowa Lakes Community College Board of Trustees will be held on Tuesday, November 16, 2021, at the Administration Building, 19 South 7th Street, Estherville, Iowa, at 4:30 pm.