Iowa STEM Teacher Award

The Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council and Kemen Industries have joined together to honor teachers who are inspiring Iowa’s students to develop a passion for STEM subjects. This award is for teachers who are making a significant difference in the lives of students across the state by providing excellent curriculum, encouraging lifelong learning and inspiring a passion for STEM beyond the classroom and into the future.

The Iowa Teacher of the Year Award honors one teacher from each of the six stem regions for their contribution and dedication to STEM education in Iowa. Each awardee receives $1,500, as well as another $1,500 for their classroom.

Shane Peterson
2023 Iowa STEM Teacher Awardee Shane Peterson, 8-12 Industrial Technology Instructor West Lyon Junior High/High School, Inwood
Susan Oehlertz
2022 Awardee Susan Oehlertz, K-12 Technology Intergrationist and Computer Science Teacher Pocahontas Area Community School, Pocahontas
Matt Hansen
2020 Awardee Matt Hansen, Industrial Technology MMCRU High School, Marcus
Robbie Cundy
2021 Awardee Robbie Cundy, Mathematics Sioux Center High School Award Video -
JoAnne Sackett
2019 Awardee JoAnne Sackett, Tag/Explore Lab Stem Teacher Okoboji Elementary, Milford
Jacquie Drey
2018 Awardee Jacquie Drey, Fourth Grade Storm Lake Elementary, Storm Lake
Keith Juelfs
2017 Awardee Keith Juelfs, Fifth Grade Morningside Elementary STEM School, Sioux City
Kent Muyskens
2016 Awardee Kent Muyskens, Chemistry Carroll High School, Carroll
Mike Wedge
2015 Awardee Mike Wedge, Science Teacher/STEM Coordinator Sibley-Ocheyedan High School, Sibley