Results from the 2023 Jazz Band Contest Announced

Iowa Lakes Jazz Band

The Iowa Lakes Community College Music Department is proud to announce the 2023 Jazz Band Contest winners from the event held on January 20 and February 2 at the Janice K. Lund Performing Arts Center. Many local high school bands performed jazz classics throughout the competition.

Experienced judges, Julie Forney and Greg Forney, scored the jazz bands based on ensemble playing, rhythm section, style comprehension, solos, improvisation, and programming.

Class 1A Division
No 1A competitors this year.

Class 2A Division
First place: West Lyon, directed by Jade Bolin
Second place: Okoboji led by James Kunz
Third place: Central Lyon led by Sherwin Langholdt

Class 3A Division
First place: MOC Floyd Valley  directed by Matthew Honken
Second place: LeMars led by Michael Prichard
Third place: Spirit Lake directed by Tyler Pedersen

Class 4A Division
First place: Dakota Valley led by Daryl Jessen

Additionally, 73 individual performers won Outstanding Soloist Awards.

For more information about the Iowa Lakes Music Department, please visit

Photo Caption: High school students competing in the 2023 Jazz Band Contest held at Iowa Lakes Community College on January 20 and February 2. Photo provided by Dave Petrick, CPP.