Results From 2022 Jazz Band Contest Released

jazz band

(Estherville, Iowa) The Iowa Lakes Community College Music Department is proud to announce the 2022 Jazz Band Contest winners from the event held on January 20 and 21 at the Janice K. Lund Performing Arts Center. Many local high school bands performed jazz classics throughout the competition.

Judges scored the jazz bands based on ensemble playing, rhythm section, style comprehension, solos, improvisation, and programming.

For the Class 2A division, first place went to West Lyon, directed by Drew Balta, second place to Okoboji, directed by James Kunz, and third place to Central Lyon, directed by Sherwin Langholdt.

The top 3 bands in the Class 3A division were Spirit Lake, directed by Tyler Pedersen, in first place; MOC-Floyd Valley, directed by Matthew Honken, in second place; and Lemars, directed by Michael Pritchard, in third place.

For the Class 4A division, Storm Lake, directed by Corbet Butler, took first place and Dakota Valley, directed by Daryl Jessen, received second place.

Additionally, many individual performers won Outstanding Soloist Awards.

For more information about the Iowa Lakes Music Department, please visit