Iowa Awards recipients

Estherville, Iowa – Community Colleges for Iowa proudly unveiled the distinguished awardees of the 2023 Outstanding Faculty and Staff Awards during their Annual Trustee Conference. Among this year’s esteemed honorees from Iowa Lakes Community College are Kathy Muller, Executive Director of Human Resources, recipient of the Outstanding Staff Award, and Michael Gengler, Wind Energy & Turbine Technology Program Coordinator, acknowledged with the Outstanding Faculty Award. These accolades highlight the extraordinary commitment and devotion demonstrated by faculty, staff, leaders, and trustees throughout Iowa’s 15 community colleges.

“We extend our heartfelt congratulations to Kathy Muller and Mike Gengler for their well-deserved recognition. Their exceptional contributions and steadfast dedication to excellence have left an indelible mark on our college, students, and community,” expressed Scott Stokes, President of Iowa Lakes Community College.

Muller, has been employed by Iowa Lakes since 1979, has held her current position since 2016. Her multifaceted contributions encompass employee relations, employment law, benefits administration, compliance, supervision of human resources staff, and serving as the Title IX co-coordinator. Muller’s profound expertise, professionalism, and outstanding communication skills define her tenure.

“Kathy epitomizes the highest standards of professionalism. Her exceptional communication, human resource expertise, and adept problem-solving make her an invaluable asset for Iowa Lakes,” remarked President Stokes.

Michael Gengler, an alumnus of the Iowa Lakes Wind Energy and Turbine Technology program, returned to the college a decade ago, infusing his industry experience and dedication into shaping the next generation of Wind Energy Technicians. Currently serving as the Program Coordinator and Lead Instructor, Gengler extends his impact beyond his program, contributing to four sustainable energy programs through lectures and labs and showcasing the breadth of his sustainable energy knowledge.

“Mike effectively bridges the gap between students and program leadership with his extensive knowledge, reach, and approachability. His commitment and student-centered approach have earned him high respect from both peers and students,” praised President Stokes.

The 2023 Outstanding Faculty and Staff Awards recognize outstanding individuals from each of Iowa’s 15 community colleges, focusing on their service and leadership contributions to their respective institutions and the broader community.