Iowa Lakes Students Named to 2022 All-Iowa Academic Team

PTK students

(Estherville, Iowa) Iowa Lakes Community College hosted the 2022 Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) All-Iowa Academic Awards banquet in Des Moines on March 2. Eight Iowa Lakes Community College students were honored for achieving All-Iowa Academic Team status in the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society.

PTK is the world’s largest and most prestigious honor society for two-year college students and recognizes outstanding academic achievement, intellectual rigor, leadership, and civic growth. The highest academic achievers from PTK in Iowa’s 15 community colleges receive recognition every year.

The eight Iowa Lakes PTK students named to the 2022 All-Iowa Academic Team are:

  • Jason Breuer is obtaining an Associate in Arts and plans to transfer to the University of South Dakota to study music education. Breuer’s honors include All-Iowa Academic Team and Presidential Scholar.
  • Kellen Cameron is working towards an Associate in Arts and plans to transfer to a four-year university to continue his education. Cameron’s honors include President’s Honor List, ICCAC Academic All-Region First Team, PTK Member, and All-Iowa PTK Academic Team.
  • Alexis Chase is earning an Associate in Arts and an Associate in Science and plans to attend Northern State University to continue her education and softball career. Chase’s honors include being on the All-Iowa PTK Academic Team.
  • Abigail Gaudian is earning an Associate in Arts and Associate in Science and plans to continue her education at a four-year institution to major in nursing. Gaudin has received many awards and recognitions, including 2022 NJCAA Women’s Golf National Qualifier, 2021 ICCAC Women’s Golf All-Region Second Team, ICCAC Fall 2021 Academic All-Region First Team, Iowa PGA 2021 Charlie Burkart Post-Secondary Scholarship Winner, and 2020 Jason F. Church Athlete of Year Hudson High School.
  • Haley Hallengren is obtaining an Associate in Arts and plans to transfer to the University of Iowa to study music education. She hopes to own her own business and teach voice and piano lessons one day. Hallengren’s honors include the National Honor Society, National School Choral Award, and President’s Honor List.
  • Elizabeth Lausen is obtaining a diploma in the Photography Specialist program and plans to open a photography business after graduation. Lausen’s honors include President’s Honor List, Albee Scholarship recipient, High School Dual Credit Scholarship recipient, Alumni Dependent Scholarship recipient, Emmet County 4-H Foundation, 4-H Foundation Scholarship, and a 4-H Citizenship Award.
  • Ruth Marth is working towards an Associate in Science at Iowa Lakes and plans to transfer to Iowa State University for the Fall 2022 semester. After obtaining her bachelor’s degree in kinesiology, Marth intends to pursue a doctorate in physical therapy. Marth has received many awards, scholarships, and honors, including Terry E. Branstad Iowa State Fair Scholarship, WaTanYe Community Service Scholarship, Emmet County 4-H Foundation Scholarship, Presidential Scholars Program Member, PTK Member, President’s Honor List (2020-2021), Dean’s List (2020-2021), 2021 Emmet County Fair Queen, Iowa Lakes Scholarship Donor Reception Keynote Speaker, 2021 All-Iowa PTK Academic Team, and numerous Emmet County 4-H awards.
  • DJ Myers is majoring in Aviation and Airport Management and plans to work as a Certified Flight Instructor (CFI) at Iowa Lakes Community College with the Aviation and Airport Management program. Meyers’ awards and honors include four times Southwest Iowa Honor Band, two times Southwest Iowa Honor Marching Band, and Combat Medic in the National Guard.

Two Iowa Lakes students were also named 2022 Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze Scholars. Gaudin and Marth will receive a $1,000 scholarship and a commemorative medallion.

Students are nominated for the Coca-Cola Academic Team by their college administrators. Selection is based on academic achievement, leadership, and college and community service engagement.

“When I heard my name announced as a Bronze winner of the scholarship, I felt surprised and honored. Receiving this scholarship will help me financially as I continue my education. It is my honor to be named to the 2022 Coca-Cola Academic Team through PTK and to be able to represent my family, community, and Iowa Lakes Community College in this way. This achievement would not have been possible without the support of my parents, community members, and the Iowa Lakes faculty,” shared Marth.

Gaudian said, “I am truly honored to be selected to receive this scholarship. Receiving this scholarship will help support my education as I continue to pursue a nursing degree in the future. I am extremely grateful for this award and can’t wait to see where it helps me go in the future.”

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recognize 50 Gold, 50 Silver, and 50 Bronze Scholars from PTK All-Academic Teams. The Coca-Cola Scholars program awards nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually.

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa to make it possible for more deserving students to achieve their educational goals and support tomorrow’s leaders of the global community.”

Coca-Cola Academic Team members are recognized in local and statewide ceremonies and internationally during the Phi Theta Kappa’s annual convention, PTK Catalyst, held in Denver, Colorado, April 7-9.