Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar at Iowa Lakes Community College includes important student dates and deadlines. Every effort has been made to assure that the Academic Calendars are as accurate as possible. However, the important dates and deadlines are subject to change at any time. 

Spring 2021 Academic Calendar
2021 Spring Semester
Offices re-open after winter break   January 4 
Official Registration days, for those not already registered for Spring   Jan. 7, 8, 11, 12 
ICCOC on-line courses begin   Monday, January 11 
Face to face and virtual classes begin   Wednesday, January 13 
Initial tuition and fee payment due Wednesday, January 13
Holiday, no classes, offices closed  Monday, January 18
From this day forward students must contact Records office to add or drop a course   Thursday, January 21 
       From January 21 forward, students must have permission from faculty to add a class.
Financial Aid Census Date, 4 p.m.   Friday, January 22 
Last day to register or change registration (Full Term Course)   Tuesday, January 26 
Last day to apply for spring graduation   Friday, Jan. 29 
No Classes, Employee In-service   Friday, February 19 
ICCOC Midterm grades due   Monday, March 3
Midterm grades due   Tuesday, March 16 
Last day to add an Independent Study Course delivered through the Success Center   Wednesday, March 17 
Spring break, offices open   Monday-Friday, March 15-19 
Holiday, no classes, offices closed   Friday, April 2 
No Classes, offices open   Monday, April 5 
Last day to initiate a complete withdrawal from college   Monday, April 26 
ICCOC online courses end   Sunday, May 2 
ICCOC Final grades due   Monday, May 3 
Final exams begin (exam schedule is online)   Monday, May 10 
Last day of term/COMMENCEMENT, Estherville   Friday, May 14 
Grades due from faculty, noon   Monday, May 17 
Grades available online   Wednesday, May 19 
Summer term classes begin--full-term   Monday, May 24 
Course Add/Drop Dates and Refund Policy
Full Term Iowa Lakes Courses
Start / End Date: Jan 13 - May 14
Last day to add: Tues, Jan 26
Last day to drop:  Thur, April 22
Last day to withdraw (full refund): Wed, Jan 27
Last day to initiate Complete Withdrawal: Mon, Apr 26
   
ICCOC Online Courses - 16 week online courses
Start / End Date: Jan 11 - May 2
Last day to add: Thur, Jan 14
Last day to drop:  Tue, Apr 6
Last day to withdraw (full refund): Mon, Jan 25
Last day to initiate Complete Withdrawal: Mon, April 26
   
ICCOC Online Courses- 12 week online courses
Start / End Date: Feb 8 - May 2
Last day to add: Tue, Feb 9
Last day to drop:  Thurs, Mar 25
Last day to withdraw (full refund): Tue, Feb 16
Last day to initiate Complete Withdrawal: Mon, April 26
   
ICCOC Online Courses- 8 week online courses Session I
Start / End Date: Jan 11 - Mar 7
Last day to add: Tue, Jan 12
Last day to drop:  Mon, Feb 15
Last day to withdraw (full refund): Fri, Jan 15
Last day to initiate Complete Withdrawal: Mon, April 26
   
ICCOC Online Courses- 8 week online courses Session II
Start / End Date: Mar 8 - May 2
Last day to add: Mon, Mar 8
Last day to drop: Mon, Apr 12
Last day to withdraw (full refund): Thur, Mar 11
Last day to initiate Complete Withdrawal: Mon, April 26

Refund Policy

Full Term/16 week courses: First 10 class days of semester: 100% refund. After day 10, no refund
8 week courses: First 5 class days of the 8 week term: 100% refund. After day 5, no refund
Less than 8 weeks: First day of class: 100% refund. After first day, no refund

Note: Courses dropped after the full refund period will be assigned a “W” withdrawal grade on the official transcript.

This calendar is subject to change. Fast Track, and other special course schedules differ; beginning dates and refund dates vary. Some exceptions are noted above under Calendar. Fast Track  course drops are cancelled with refund only before second class meeting starts. A student who registers but later is unable to attend must notify the college before the last date to cancel the course(s) or program to avoid charges and/or grades.

CENSUS DATE: Students who receive financial aid need to lock in their status as either full or part-time on this date: (08/29/19)

Summer 2021 Academic Calendar
Summer face to face Career Tech classes begin as scheduled**or Monday, May 24
First session, liberal arts and evening classes begin Monday, May 24
ICCOC online courses begin Monday, May 24
Last day to register or change registration (see chart below)  
HOLIDAY, No Classes, Offices Closed Monday, May 31
Last day to apply for summer graduation Friday. June 4
Last day of first face-to-face and virtual session Thursday, June 24
Second session face-to-face and virtual classes begin Tuesday, June 29
Holiday, No classes, Offices closed Monday, July 5
Last day to initiate a complete withdrawal from college Thursday, July 22
Last day of second term face-to-face, virtual courses Friday, July 30
COMMENCEMENT, Emmetsburg Friday, July 30
Last day of online 2nd 8 week session and 4 week term Sunday, August 1
Grades due from faculty for summer courses Monday, August 2
Grades available online for online, virtual and face-to-face Thursday, August 5
Course Add/Drop Dates and Refund Policy
Full Term Iowa Lakes Courses
Start / End Date: May 24-July 30
Last day to add: May 27
Last day full refund: June 4
Last day to withdraw, (no refund): July 12
Last day to initiate Complete Withdrawal: July 22
   
1st Session Iowa Lakes courses
Start / End Date: May 24-June 24
Last day to add: May 25
Last day full refund: May 25
Last day to withdraw, (no refund): June 17
   
2nd Session Iowa Lakes courses
Start / End Date: June 29-July 30
Last day to add: June 30
Last day full refund: June 30
Last day to withdraw, (no refund): July 22
   
ICCOC Online Courses- 8 week online courses Session I
Start / End Date: May 24-July 18
Last day to add: May 25
Last day full refund: May 38 (Fri)
Last day to withdraw, (no refund): July 7 (Wed)
   
ICCOC Online Courses- 8 week online courses Session II
Start / End Date: June 7-Aug 1
Last day to add: June 8
Last day full refund: June 11 (Fri)
Last day to withdraw, (no refund): July 19 (Mon)

 

ICCOC Online Courses- 4-week Term (reg ltd to ONE 4 wk course)
Start / End Date: July 5 - August 1
Last day to add: July 2
Last day full refund: July 6 (Tues)
Last day to withdraw, (no refund): July 21 (Wed)

 

Note: Courses dropped after the full refund period will be assigned a “W” withdrawal grade on the official transcript.

Course schedules with differing beginning dates, from those on schedule above have their own refund dates. Check with Records office. Courses less than 8-week term, are fully refunded only through the second class meeting.  

A student who registers but later is unable to attend must notify the college before the final date to receive a full refund, to avoid charges and/or grades.

This calendar is subject to change.  

CENSUS DATE: Students who receive financial aid need to lock in their status as either full or part-time on this date: (06/02/21)

Fall 2021 Academic Calendar
2021 Fall Semester
Faculty Staff Professional Development Day Thursday, August 19
Orientation day for new students Monday, August 23
ICCOC on-line courses begin Monday, August 23
Day and evening classes begin Tuesday, August 24
Initial tuition and fee payment due Tuesday, August 24
Last day students can add/drop a course via WebAdvisor  Monday, August 30
     (after this date must contact Records office)
Starting Tuesday, August 31, faculty permission must be obtained to add a class.
Financial Aid Census Date, 4 p.m. Thursday, September 2
Last day to register or change registration (Full Term Course) Friday, September 3
Last day to apply for fall graduation Friday, September 3
Holiday, no classes, offices closed Monday, September 6
ICCOC Midterm grades due Tuesday, October 12
No classes, offices open Friday, October 22
Midterm grades turned in by faculty Sunday, October 17
No classes, offices open Wednesday, November 24
Holiday, no classes, offices closed Thursday-Friday, November 24-25
Last day to initiate a complete withdrawal from college Friday, December 3
Regular class day, evening final exams begin at 4:30 pm Thursday, December 9
Daytime final exams begin (exam schedule is online) Friday, December 10
Last day of fall semester for face to face classes Friday, December 17
ICCOC online courses end Sunday, December 12
ICCOC final grades due Monday, December 13
Face to Face course grades due from faculty Friday, December 17
Grades available online Wednesday, December 22
Spring Commencement Friday, May 22, 2022
Course Add/Drop Dates and Refund Policy

 

Refund Policy

Full Term/16 Week Course

First 10 class days of semester 100% refund    After day 10—no refund

8 Week Course

First 5 class days of the 8 week  term-100% refund       After day 5—no refund

Less than 8 Weeks

First day of class – 100% refund    After first day—no refund

 

Deadline to Add A Class

Virtual/Face to Face
August 24th – December 17th

September 3rd by 11:59 pm
*Starting Aug 31st, you need faculty permission to add a class & contact the Records office to add

Online 16 Week Session
August 23rd – December 12th

August 26th by 11:59 pm

Online 12 Week Session
September 20th – December 12th

September 21st by 11:59 pm

Online 8 Week Session I
August 23rd – October 17th

August 24th by 11:59 pm 

Online 8 Weeks Session II
October 18th – December 12th

October 19th by 11:59 pm

*Students contacting the Records office should always use their Iowa Lakes email.  Emails received after office hours on the deadline will still be accepted.

  

Deadline to DROP – With a Refund

Virtual/Face to Face
August 24th – December 17th

September 7th by 11:59 pm

Online 16 Week Session
August 23rd – December 12th

September 3rd by 11:59 pm

Online 12 Week Session
September 20th – December 12th

September 28th by 11:59 pm

Online 8 Week Session I
August 23rd – October 17th

August 27th by 11:59 pm

Online 8 Weeks Session II
October 18th – December 12th

October 22nd by 11:59 pm

*Students contacting the Records office should always use their Iowa Lakes email.  Emails received after office hours on the deadline will still be accepted.

  

Deadline to Drop an Individual Class – No Refund

Virtual/Face to Face
August 24th – December 17th

November 17th by 11:59 pm
*Starting Aug 31st, you must contact the records office to drop

Online 16 Week Session
August 23rd – December 12th

November 11th by 11:59 pm

Online 12 Week Session
September 20th – December 12th

November 23rd by 11:59 pm

Online 8 Week Session I
August 23rd – October 17th

October 4th by 11:59 pm

Online 8 Weeks Session II
October 18th – December 12th

November 19th by 11:59 pm

*Students contacting the Records office should always use their Iowa Lakes email.  Emails received after office hours on the deadline will still be accepted.

  

Last day to initiate a COMPLETE WITHDRWAL (drop all courses with a “W” grade and no refund):  Friday, December 3rd

CENSUS DATE: Students who receive financial aid need to lock in their status as either full or part-time on this date: September 2, 2021