3 Iowa Lakes students earn All Iowa Academic Team honors

Iowa Lakes student with laptopThree Iowa Lakes Community College students have achieved All Iowa Academic Team status for the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, which recognizes outstanding academic achievement.

They were honored at a banquet in Des Moines on Feb. 28.

“Being a member of the All-Iowa Academic Team is a recognition of a student’s high academic achievement and commitment to service and leadership both in and out of the classroom,” said Abi Sedlacek, associate professor of English and communications, who also serves as Phi Theta Kappa adviser.

Students recognized from Iowa Lakes Community College were:

  • RaeAhna Harmon, of Waterville, Minn. Harmon, a biology major, attended the Estherville campus, where she played volleyball for Iowa Lakes and was named to the NJCAA All-Academic First Team. She earned a place on the Iowa Lakes President’s List and has transferred to Augusta University.
  • Samantha Dischler, of Ft. Dodge. Dischler is in the veterinary technician program on the Emmetsburg campus. She is also part of the Iowa Lakes Presidential Scholars program, earned a place on the President’s List and is an Iowa Lakes Ambassador. She has received a National Science Foundation scholarship.
  • Kylie Wellard, of Yuma, Ariz. Wellard is studying for an associate of arts degree at the Estherville and Spencer campuses. She belongs to the swimming and soccer teams, and earned a position on the Second Team All-Region in Soccer and an honorable mention All-American in swimming. She was named to the Second Team All-Academic and is also on the Iowa Lakes President’s List.

Only a limited number of students can be nominated each year, and the award is given by Phi Theta Kappa and the community college presidents, Sedlacek said.

The award entitles students to large transfer scholarships, especially at the state’s public universities.

Others attending the dinner from Iowa Lakes included Sedlacek, college President Valerie Newhouse, Mary Faber, Spencer and Spirit Lake campus director, Lisa Stich, executive dean of the Estherville campus, and Thomas Brotherton, executive dean of the Emmetsburg campus.


All Academic honorees

Attending the banquet from Iowa Lakes were college President Valerie Newhouse, honoree Kylie Wellard, honoree Samantha Dischler and Abi Sedlacek, associate professor and Phi Theta Kappa adviser.

For More Information:

Abi Sedlacek at 712-580-8637